celebrating summer camp

IMG_8241

keeper of 1000 sunsets, infinite songs, miles & miles of hikes and so much laughter and love: Mar Lu Ridge.

I could go (& have gone) on & on about what camp taught me and the ways it has shaped me. I recognize gifts that MLR gave me in my daily life & work, at FLBC & beyond.

These days, I’ve been especially grateful for the work ethic my summers at camp instilled in me & the true belief that conversations and story sharing can change lives. A week at summer camp or a weekend retreat can be deeply transformational for children, youth & adults. I am so lucky to see the spirit at work every day, as I watch people open up and grow in themselves as they spend time out in nature & in community. I’m endlessly thankful for places like MLR & FLBC that facilitate time apart, time to experience the glory of creation & time to slow down and think a little harder about these lives we lead.

I truly, truly believe that outdoor ministry changes lives & encourage you to support a camping program wherever you might be. This month is “I love camp” month in the MD/ DE & Metro DC synods of the ELCA- the synods that directly support MLR. Download the I ❤️ MLR! sign here & submit your own photo!

Leave a Reply

